Vegetarian means vegetarian in India, according to Pizza Hut

May 19, 2002

NEW DELHI -- Responding to a lawsuit filed against Pizza Hut in the United States, Pizza Hut's Indian subsidiary on May 19 announced that 100 percent vegetarian ingredients are used on its vegetarian pizzas.

"The ingredients used by Pizza Hut, India, for all its vegetarian pizzas and other vegetarian products are 100 percent vegetarian," Sandeep Kohli, managing director of Tricon Global Restaurants Inc., (NYSE:YUM), Pizza Hut's parent company, told the Times of India. "We fully understand and appreciate needs of Indian customers and our vegetarian products are totally free from any non-vegetarian ingredients."

The comments follow in the wake of a class-action lawsuit filed against Pizza Hut in April by lawyer Harish Bharti on behalf of 15 million vegetarians and 1 million Hindus in the U.S. The suit, currently filed in U.S. District Court in Seattle, alleges that the cheese used in Pizza Hut's Veggie Lover's Pizza is made with beef products (See story: Lawsuit claims Pizza Hut uses beef products in Veggie Lover's pie).

Sponsored Links:

Recommended For You

Latest Content

comments powered by Disqus